History of the Barn
Historical and Boutique Accommodation
The history of the barn fascinates everyone. Tradition and innovation melts into these stunning grounds. Bushmills is a town with a rich history boasting the oldest distillery in the world, originating in 1608.
Bushmills grows and The Old Rectory & its Barns are built.
The 1821 listing's text changed to: In 1821 for a cost of £1200 (£960,000 in today’s money) the still existing church, Dunluce Parish was built. Four years later in 1825 the Rectory and the Barns were extended, a big step in the history of Bushmills, serving as a home to the church’s ministers for the next 150 years.
In 1821 for a cost of £1200 (£960,000 in today’s money) the still existing church, Dunluce Parish was built. Four years later in 1825 the Rectory and the Barns was erected, starting its journey in the history of Bushmills, serving as a home to the church’s ministers for the next 150 years.
The Reverent James Morewood was the first occupant.
During these periods of ownership, the Barns are used for servant’s quarters and stables for horse’s.
In 1960 flooding happened and the house and barns were abandoned and a new modern house was built for the minister at that time and future ministers to come.
The purchase and the restoration of Rectory from the church and the original restoration of this Georgian Manor begins.
The original restoration of the now Old Rectory is completed. With the Barns now having a tin roof.
The Old Rectory hosts the VIP guests and commentators of the American news channel NBC news for the 148th British Open, Royal Portrush.
After studying International Hospitality and Tourism Management and working at The Gleneagles Hotel host Jasper dreams up the perfect accommodation for exploring the booming tourism spot – The North Coast of Northern Ireland.